5 Reasons Why I Photograph My Life

There’s something about the knowledge that spring is coming that breathes life back into me. Although I love the cosiness of winter, the warmer months motivate me to bring out my camera and capture beauty. I have always enjoyed photography but I became obsessed with it two summers ago when I purchased a DSLR. I wanted to get a head start on learning manual photography before I started my graphic design program that fall. Since then I’ve (kind of) mastered manual mode, purchased a couple of affordable lenses, and spent plenty of time reading tutorials and completing photography assignments for school. During those two summers I discovered something even better than just being able to take “pretty” photos–the fact that I was capturing memories. So with that in mind, here are my top five reasons that photographing your life is important!

Practicing will make you a better photographer

There is something really gratifying about improving your photography skill so that the photos you share on Facebook come closer to matching your vision. If I see a beautiful landscape, I want to be able to show others just how incredible it actually was! I’ve captured a lot of shots that make my heart super happy simply because their colours or composition are pleasing.

IMG_0120-2.jpg

It makes you slow down and appreciate the little things

When I first started photography, I was amazed and confused by the jaw-dropping shots I saw posted by other photographers on my forum. I thought that I needed to live in a more beautiful location or own better equipment and props to come anywhere close to that kind of result. But when I really started to look at my everyday life, I found plenty of opportunities for great captures that could be achieved with a bit of know how and patience. I love that photography forces me to be fully aware of my surroundings and in the moment instead of looking down at my phone.

IMG_9066-2.jpg

You can share your experiences with others

One of the best parts of photography for me is seeing people laugh at a funny moment or smile at a portrait. I post my favourite photos on Facebook because I want to show my friends how I see the world and because I love seeing snapshots of their worlds in return. Small things like photos can help us to encourage one another to find the joy in everyday moments.

IMG_8334-2.jpg

Photos can help you focus on the good hidden within the bad

After a hard breakup, I didn’t want to look at all of the photos I’d taken. But now that the sting has worn off, I appreciate being able to relive all of the amazing experiences that filled those two years. I treasure these photos because they highlight the many reasons I have to be thankful for that part of my life.

IMG_0787-2.jpg

You will preserve your memories

I don’t want to be morbid, but someday you are going to die. And before that happens you will probably begin forgetting some of the things that you’ve experienced. Photos are a way of reminding us of where we’ve been, how far we’ve come, and how much we have to be thankful for. When we pass on, our loved ones and descendants will be able to remember and understand us better because of the photos we took while we were alive. I want to document what it means to be me, right here and right now. I want to appreciate my life while I’m in the midst of it!

IMG_9318.jpg

I hope I’ve inspired you to take some photos of your own this spring. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject, so leave a comment below and let me know if you think photographing everyday life is important. Thanks for reading!

Till next time,

Rebecca

Share Your Thoughts!

